A Message from Matt Hixson, Director of Schools
Welcome to Hawkins County Schools. I am excited to begin my first full year as Director of Schools. I have three priorities as we enter the 2019-20 school year. First, safety. Without school environments being safe, we cannot be effective in educating our students. I am thrilled to announce we received the School Resource Officer (SRO) grant offered from the state, which will provide an officer available to every Hawkins County School (several of our smaller sites will share a dedicated SRO). Second, student preparedness. We are dedicated to growing Career and Technical Education (CTE) and post high school educational opportunities for our students. We will be working closely with local and state industry leaders to offer internship and training programs for our students in addition to increased dual enrollment opportunities. This fall, we embarked on our first ever Hawkins County Virtual Academy, facilitated by Sharon Lindsey. This program allows for flexibility for students interested in work opportunities, dual enrollment, or internships. Students enrolled in the academy receive a free public education as Hawkins County students, taking their courses online and on a schedule that works for them. HCVA students have full access to their home school electives, sports, and club activities as well. Third, transparency. As stakeholders in our school system, you need to know what we are doing and our intent behind these actions. We will work hard to ensure system-wide communication with you at all times. Please note, we will be employing a new website, making better use of social media, and making efficient use of our parent notification systems to better communicate with you.
Matt Hixson, Director of Schools

Matt Hixson
Director of Schools

423.272.7629  Ext:2023
Email : matt.hixson@hck12.net

With the release of the 2018-19 TNReady test scores, Hawkins County Schools is proud to announce that two of its elementary schools have been designated as Reward Schools. This year, Church Hill Elementary and St. Clair Elementary received this designation. Reward Schools are identified annually by the Tennessee Department of Education and this is the top distinction schools can earn. Reward Schools are those schools that are improving overall in student academic achievement, and student growth for all student subgroups (White, Black, Hispanic, Native American, English Language Learners, Asian, Students with Disabilities, and Economically Disadvantaged). As a district, Hawkins County Schools received an overall distinction of satisfactory which encompasses both achievement and subgroup statuses.

Cherokee High School excelled, receiving an overall growth score of 5 for a school-wide composite. Cherokee also received a 5 in school wide numeracy, a 4 for school-wide CTE (Career Technical Education), and a 4 in school-wide CTE concentrators. Other high marks for CHS included a 3 in social studies, school wide literacy, and school-wide CTE literacy.

Church Hill Elementary, Keplar, McPheeters Bend, and St. Clair all received a level 3 in school-wide growth composite. McPheeters Bend received a 5 in school-wide literacy and Keplar and Mt. Carmel Elementary received a 4 in school wide literacy. Surgoinsville Elementary and St. Clair received a 3 in school-wide literacy. Church Hill Elementary received a 5 in school-wide numeracy and Keplar, St. Clair, Surgoinsville Elementary and Clinch received a 3 in school wide numeracy.

Hawkins County had three schools in the district identified as Focus Schools with TSI (Targeted Support and Improvement). TSI schools are identified annually due to specific subgroups falling below 5% in their overall progress. The three schools were identified because one or more of the following sub-groups (White, Asian, Black, Hispanic, Native American, Students with Disabilities, English Language Learners, or Economically Disadvantaged) fell within that range. The three targeted school sites are Church Hill Intermediate, Hawkins Elementary, and Rogersville Middle.

The district has already begun an intensive plan of action to address the needs of the designated focus schools and those schools who scored an overall level 1 or 2 in their composite scores.

I have outlined the district’s plan of action to support schools in improving the progress of all students. Those steps include:

  • Conducting a comprehensive needs assessment for each school to address student achievement (root cause analysis)
  • Reviewing school improvement plans to assure the identified plans focus on student academic needs (each student by need)
  • Meeting monthly with principals to review progress toward each school plan (Professional Learning Community model)
  • Providing additional support through embedded staff development for designated schools (enhanced professional development)
  • Utilizing literacy coaches through the Niswonger Rural Schools Grant (outside resources)

I am extremely proud of the hard work of both students and teachers. While there are clearly areas in need of improvement, we will continue to celebrate our successes and commit ourselves to addressing areas of need.

Matt Hixson

Hawkins County Schools 2015-2020 Strategic Plan

Matt Hixson
Director of Schools
Matt Hixson
423.272.7629  Ext:2023
Email matt.hixson@hck12.net

Dr. Reba Bailey
Co-Assistant Director of Schools and Director of Federal Programs

Reba Bailey
423.272.7629  Ext:2005
Email : reba.bailey@hck12.net

Beth Holt
Co-Assistant Director of Schools and Director of  Curriculum and Instruction
Beth Holt
423.272.7629  Ext: 2006
Email : beth.holt@hck12.net

Jennifer Michel
Executive Administrative Assistant
Jennifer Michaels
423.272.7629  Ext: 2023
Email : jennifer.michel@hck12.net


Patti McCall
Administrative Assistant/Office Manager
Patti McCall
423-272-7629  Ext: 2001
Email : patti.mccall@hck12.net