Facebook YouTube

2012-2013 School Year

2012-2013 Accomplishments


Volunteer High School


VHS had 162 students pass 267 Dual Enrollment classes (approx. 860 hours of college credit) (At $330 per hour, that is $283,800 worth of college credit earned at a fraction of that cost)

We had 19 students achieve passing scores on Advanced Placement tests.




Service Projects:

Hats for Cancer

Canned Food Drive for Family Resource Center

Collected Items for Signature Nursing Home

Collected donations for Hawkins County Humane Society and Abandoned Angels in honor of a student from Sandy Hook Elementary

Raised over $2,000.00 jump rope for Heart

17 teachers attended Common Core Training in Math & Reading

1 teacher attended Mathletes at ETSU

School-Wide Overall Composite Sat 10 = 5


Church Hill Middle School


**Jason Joyner was awarded 3 grants during the 2012-2013 school year. They are as follows:

$750 Putting Children First Grant

$1000 East TN State Univ. STEM Grant

$800 Holston ASME Education Initiative Grant


**Ginger Little was honored as Middle Grades Teacher of the Year


Keplar Elementary School

KES were awarded the 21st CCLC grant with an additional $5000 for increasing student participation for the 2012-13 school year. They will receive a total of $55,000 to fund our before/after school tutoring and summer program.


Clinch School


100% Graduation rate

Met attendance goal

More students than ever at Clinch took on-line and dual enrollment classes

Tori Christian—Essay winner Powell Valley Electric---Trip to Washington DC

Met AMO Goals


Hawkins Elementary School

Dwain Brewer completed the Mathletes Program.

Janet Holcomb, Matt Price, and Trey Rafalowski completed Masters degree programs.

Karen Price implemented an after-school fitness program.

Kelly Andrews, Amy Antrican, and Julia Geiger were presenters at the Title I Conference


Surgoinsville Middle School


Hawkins County winner and third place winner in the Farm Bureau annual writing contest for 7th grade

8th Grade:
Jessica McPeek – Ripley’s Writing Contest

Jodi Horton – UTrust Writing Contest


Alyssa Dingus – 25 –Science

Brandi Bridges – 25 Science

Jessica McPeek – 25 English

Jenny Hesoun – 25 English

Jodi Horton – 25 in Science, English, Reading

Samantha Bennett – 25 in Science, English,

Reading and Overall Composite Score of 25

7th Grade:Josephine Barrett – State recognition for ACT score at or above the high school level.

Farm Bureau Essay Contest

3rd place – Ethan Galloway

1st place – Ben Davis

5th Grade -SMS SPELLING BEE WINNER: Meghan Lewis


Mt. Carmel Elementary


Quinn Brooks 4th Grade won first place in his age division at the Upper East Tennessee Science Fair at ETSU!

Math-a-Thon raised $1075.00 for St. Jude’s Children’s Research Hospital

MCES was recognized as a Reward School for performing in the top 5% in the State of Tennessee in Achievement and Growth!

MCES raised $2163.00 for Jump Rope for Hearts


McPheeter’s Bend Elementary


McPheeter’s Bend Elementary School was recognized as a Value-Added Award School from Education Consumers Foundation.


Cherokee High School


Cherokee High School’s 2012-2013 Mr & Mrs. Chs Forrest Looney & Kylie Russell


Congratulations To Kasey Fleenor For Being This Year’s Dar Representative.


Cherokee’s 2012-2013 Who’s Who

Brooke Carroll

Samantha Gatewood

Aerial Harrell

Leah Helton

Summer Jackson

Olivia Lawson

Connor Linkous

Logan Lumpkins

Tyler Ringley

Kylie Russell

Jennifer Rich Won 1st Place At State Culinary Competition

Congratulations To The Following Fbla Competitors At Regional

Pattie Ruth Taylor- 1st In Public Speaking Ii

Kasey Fleenor – 1st In Business Calculations

Brooke Jones – 3rd In Business Calculations

Samantha Marlow – 2nd In Public Speaking I

Tyler Ringley & Tanner Trent – 2nd In Business Ethics

Emma Hughes & Bethany Osborne – 5th In Business Ethics

Congratluations To The Following Ffa Members

Luke Mccracken- East Tennessee Profiency Winner In Agriculture Mechanics Design & Fabrication

Brian Dyer – East Tennessee Winner In Agriculture Mechanics Repair & Maintenance


Congratulations To The Following Fccla Members Competing For State

Madison Byington & Hannah Montgomery Received 3rd Place Silver Award In Chapter Service Project Display

Alexandria Harrell & Madison Price Received A Silver Award In Illustrated Talk

Julia Lyons Received Silver In Interior Design

Congratulations To Sophomore Michael Jones For Being Chosen To Participate In The 2013 Hites Program At The University Of Tennessee

Congratulations To The Cherokee Lady Bowling Chiefs For Becoming 2013 Region 1 Champions

Ty Ryans Was Named To The Inter Mountain Conference 2012 Football Team, As The Offensive Player Of The Year.

Tanner Trent Was Named To The 1st Team Offense As Wide Receiver.

Cole Russell Was Named To The 1st Team Defense As Linebacker

Ethan Hagood Made 2nd Team Receiver

Andrew Testerman Named 2nd Team Defensive Back

Brian Dyer Made 2nd Team Offensive Lineman


The Cherokee Girls Placed 3rd In Overall 2013 Imac Track Championship

Courtney Brooks Placed 3rd In Discus

Savannah Marlowe Placed 1st In Shot Put

Samantha Marlowe Placed 3rd In Shot Put

Casey Seals Placed 3rd In Pole Vault With A New School Record Of 7 Feet

Olivia Ewing Placed 3rd In 100 Meter Hurdles

Evan Mmccracken Won 1st Place In The Shot Put & Discus With A New School Record Of 57 Feet 4 Inches In The Shot.


Congratulations To Mr. Owens Psychology Class For Making The Highest Composite Score Ever On The Clep Test

Congratulations To The Cherokee Concert Band Who Competed In The Tennessee Secondary School Band Directors Association Concert Festival At Hiwassee College. The Band Received Division 1 Superior Ratings From Every Judge

Congratulations To Cadet Lieutenant Brittany Bowers On Her Selection To Attend The 2013 Engineering & Technology Leadership Seminar At The University Of San Diego

Congratulations To Cadet Master Chief Eric Rolen For Being Selected As The Governor’s Volunteer Stars Award Winner For 2012

Congratulations To All Njrotc Cadets For Their Selection As Distinguished Unit With Academic Honors. This Marks The 7th Consecutive Year That Cherokee Njrotc Has Made This Distinguished List.

It is the policy of the Hawkins County School System not to discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, national origin, age, or disability in its educational programs or employment policies as required by Title VI and VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, the Equal Pay Act of 1963, Title IX (1972 Educational Amendments), Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, and the Americans with Disabilities Act.