Facebook YouTube

Hawkins County Schools recognized as an Exemplary District by TDOE back button

News Image


Please see the information below and the attached letter. Thank you!


 2015 District Accountability Tennessee adopted a new accountability system in 2012, after securing a waiver from certain portions of No Child Left Behind. Under the new system, Tennessee looks to districts to increase achievement levels for all students and reduce achievement gaps that exist between certain groups.

 Rather than expecting all districts to meet the same benchmarks year after year, the system acknowledges that districts are starting from different places and rewards those that show the most growth.

 A brief description of the accountability measures and the 2014-15 designations can be found below. For more information on Tennessee’s accountability system, please see this information sheet.

 Districts Designated as Exemplary

 Exemplary Districts:

 Meet the majority of their Achievement targets;

 Meet the majority of their Gap Closure targets;

 Ensure every subgroup—e.g.: Students with Disabilities, racial minorities, and students from economically disadvantaged backgrounds—moves forward in half or more of its target areas.

 These three requirements show that districts are raising proficiency levels, narrowing achievement gaps and guaranteeing growth for all students.

 The following districts are designated as Exemplary for 2014-15:

 Huntingdon Special School District
McKenzie Special School District
Manchester City
Hawkins County
Knox County
Monroe County
Rhea County
Sequatchie County
Arlington City
Bartlett City
Germantown City
Lakeland City

Click Here for Congratulations Letter from Mr. Starnes.

It is the policy of the Hawkins County School System not to discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, national origin, age, or disability in its educational programs or employment policies as required by Title VI and VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, the Equal Pay Act of 1963, Title IX (1972 Educational Amendments), Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, and the Americans with Disabilities Act.